Recent Reviews

February 2024

January 2024

December 2023

November 2023

October 2023

[ More Music Reviews ]


Fifth Note: Here We Are
Fifth Note - Here We Are Album Art

Fifth Note: Here We Are

Melodic Hard Rock/AOR
4.0/5.0

Over the last several years, as a listener and reviewer, I've been introduced to several rock and metal bands from India. One of the first was traditional heavy metal band Falcun, and their 2018 debut album Kingdom Come on Athen's Eat Metal Records. Then in 2022 and 2023, Frontiers Music gave us two outstanding albums from Girish & The Chronicles, Hail To The Heroes and Back On Earth, respectively. A little over a year ago, the label offered fans About Us from Nagaland and their self-titled debut. Now, arriving from the same state in India, Frontiers delivers Fifth Note and their first long player, Here We Are.

Fifth Note - Click For Larger Image

Fifth Note

Fifth Note got its start as Christian inspired slash covers band, covering songs from Stryper, AC/DC, Circus Maximus, and many others. As their experience and audience grew, the band began writing their own original music. They dropped two singles in 2021, Misfortune and Here We Are. Which in turn caught the interest of Frontiers who signed them for their debut album (the two singles included).


Essentially, Fifth Note is a straight up melodic hard rock band, yet adding some heavy metal and AOR influences which allows from some variety. For instance, there's some blistering heavy metal with End Time's, Dreamer, and especially Rider with its raging vocals and guitar work. Alternatively, Fifth Note can tap in to their AOR groove with Always Love You and the heavier Here We Are. Then songs like I Won't Give Up and Drifted, both driven by piano melody, are positively quite mellow in contrast. In one sense, the mixture of songs is enigmatic, yet definitely displays the bands gift for creativity.

All said, Fifth Note's debut album, Here We Are, is a strong first effort, thanks to genre bending creativity and solid songwriting. Check out the videos, and support the band.
Recommended.



CraigHartranft.net - New fiction, crime fiction by Craig Hartranft

Note: All Amazon advertising in this review first benefits the artist, then Craig Hartranft also receives a residual. Click, and thanks for your support.


The Take Away

Fifth Note's debut album, Here We Are, is a strong first effort, thanks to genre bending creativity and solid songwriting. Check out the videos, and support the band. Recommended.

Find A Review

Alphabetical Index

a b c d e f g h i j
k l m n o p q r s t
u v w x y z #
Album of the Month
Read the Lionheart: The Grace Of A Dragonfly Album Review

The origins of England's Lionheart go back to 1980 and the New Wave of British Heavy Metal. The band featured musical denizens of the era: Dennis Stratton (lead guitar/backing vocals, Iron Maiden), Steve Mann ... [ Read More ]

January 2024 Statistics
  • Users: 4,980
  • New Users: 4,320
  • Sessions: 10,592
  • Engaged Sessions: 6,387
  • Engagement Rate: 60.0%
  • Source: Google Analytics