Recent Reviews

26.03.2017

19.03.2017

12.03.2017

05.03.2017

26.02.2017

19.02.2017

[ More Music Reviews ]


Crash Street Kids: Sweet Creatures
Crash Street Kids Sweet Creatures album new music review

Crash Street Kids: Sweet Creatures

Melodic/Glam/Hard Rock
4.5/5.0

Sweet Creatures is the fourth studio album from Arizona's Crash Street Kids, but my first experience with them. Intentionally so, CSK is a throw back to early glam rock, a push of Seventies Brit rock pushed through some boisterous punk and Eighties sleaze. You cannot but hear echoes Bowie/Ziggy, Stones, Mott, and even some Alice Cooper. Much of this is evident from the start on Sweet Creatures, yet especially on Bang Bang You're Beautiful, and Bad Yeah Bad. Then 3rd Avenue Vampire brings a ballad seemingly channeling Mott the Hoople through Queen. One thinks Crash Street Kids might be lost in the wrong time.

While much of this sound continues in the second half of this tale, Crash Street Kids offer some interesting exploration. There's the strange juxtaposition of melodic catchy rock and title of I Become Death. Later, Harlot of Flies stirs up creepy Cooper images with it's blend of eerie and melodic rock. Finally, and perhaps the best song on the album, Mary Queen of Rock offers infectious rock hooks bolstered by a huge dose of saxophone.

Crash Street Kids offers classic glam rock sound visited on our planet some 40 years ago, but now warped forward through a worm hole to the 21st century. Sweet Creatures is a refreshing and vigorous spin against current trends.

Well recommended.






CraigHartranft.net - New fiction, crime fiction by Craig Hartranft

In Short

Crash Street Kids offers classic glam rock sound visited on our planet some 40 years ago, but now warped forward through a worm hole to the 21st century. Sweet Creatures is a refreshing and vigorous spin against current trends.

Find A Review

Alphabetical Index

a b c d e f g h i j
k l m n o p q r s t
u v w x y z #
Loading
Album of the Week
Click to read the Sinner - Tequila Suicide CD Album review

Mat Sinner is both an icon and legend in the German, and the larger European, hard rock and heavy metal scene. Cranking out music since 1982, Sinner is an industrious and prolific musician and producer whether through his namesake band, the heavy metal heroes Primal ... [ Read More ]